I can't feel my feet
written @ 12:51 a.m. on 2001-09-24

I just got back from my very first concert ever. If all concerts were like this one, I'd start going all the time. However, my friend informs me that not all concerts are like this one, and that, in fact, the crowd at this one was pretty unusual. I've decided that it must be the crowd experience that makes a concert worthwhile, otherwise, you could have a much more enjoyable evening listening to the CD at home.

My quote of the evening:

"These are my people."

I spent the night sandwiched between a curly-haired two and a half year old riding his father's shoulders, my concert going friend, the nicest smelling hippie I've ever encountered (and he was cute too), and an incredibly tall man wearing a t-shirt that read, "Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend, inside of a dog, it's too dark to read," shorts, white socks, and black dress shoes.

As this was my first concert, and I am slightly vain, I admit, I worried about what to wear. I just wanted to fit in, that's all I ever want to do. You can imagine how relieved I was when the accordian player stepped on stage wearing the same thing I was (only his t-shirt was orange, not green). I had decided not to change for the concert, and was just wearing what I had been all day.

I had a wonderful time listening to They Might Be Giants tonight. It was a great concert.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host