tv, it's my own personal narcotic
written @ 11:31 p.m. on 2001-09-16

I am an addict. I've known this for a while now, and I suppose I've lived beneath the shadow of addiction my entire life. See, my mom has submitted our family to a lot of psychological mumbo jumbo over the past ten years, but one of the things I picked up on was the label "addictitive personality."

Now, I wish that was just someone who you just couldn't get enough of, "He's great, he's a charmer, charismatic, he's got an addictive personality." But no. What it actually means is that person has a tendency to fall into addiction. Turns out, I come from a long line of addicts and addiction is a generational thing, meaning, it "runs in the family." So, because my great-great-grandpa, great-grandpa, grandpa, and father are all addicts, there's a good chance I will be too. And I am.

Now addiction can take many forms, alcohol, drugs, sex, etc. My addiction? TV.

I know, I know, it's a tough burden to bear. There aren't any 12 step programs for the likes of me. I was able to cut back significantly for the past year, but I don't know if I'll be able to go without cable for much longer. FOX and CBS just aren't doing it for me, and then I read TV Guide's Fall Preview issue (yes, I read the TV Guide, like a magazine, I have two tv channels, do you think it's really that hard for me to figure out the programming schedule?) and I'll admit, there are a few shows that I'd like to see. Shows on NBC, ABC and the WB (and UPN and MTV and DIS and TLC and CMT and DSC and TCM and FAM and TNN and AMC and TBS and COM and ESPN and, well, you get the picture).

When I read that UC: Undercover is going to have Oded (hottie!) Fehr on it, I sniffled with the thought that I won't be able to watch. And we can't forget The Mole 2, this is a highly anticipated (at least in my brain) sequel to a largely underrated reality tv show. What am I going to do?

How can I not watch The Mole?

I want my ABC! (and WB, UPN, FAM, DIS, TLC, DSC...)!

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host