can you tell I like apples?
written @ 6:07 p.m. on 2001-11-01

My church is having a potluck tonight, and I'm supposed to bring a dish. Now, unlike some folks (my grandmother) I don't have a stand-by "take" dish (potato salad). I honestly didn't know what to bring. I searched my cookbooks looking for something that nobody else was bringing (potato salad), something that I would eat, and something that would taste okay lukewarm.

This last stipulation was the hardest. I could find things that you should serve hot, or serve cold, but nothing that would stand very well in a pot luck.

So I decided to bring applesauce. I know, it's kinda different, but hey, so am I. And besides, the best thing about bringing applesauce is that your house smells delicious for a few hours while it's cooking. Unfortunately, right now my applesauce looks more like chunky cider and I have to leave in 10 minutes. So I'm hoping that it will miraculously thicken up enough to look mildly appetizing.

I wonder what I should have brought instead?

*update* So my applesauce turned out pretty well, and people actually ate it! Honestly, I was a little nervous, because about a month ago, when it was my table's turn to bring snacks, nobody ate my pretzels (yes it hurt my feelings). I mean, I know that people don't know who brought what, however, I take it personally when my food goes untouched. But my yum yum sauce was sweet like candy and brown like sugar, and I don't have any left. It could be that my dad scraped the leftovers in the trash before he brought the bowl over to me, or it could be that there were no leftovers. Either way, people ate my applesauce! Yay!

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host