those crazy kids
written @ 8:20 p.m. on 2004-02-09

Sex should never be about just getting it over with. Especially when you're only 16. I hate the WB. I really hated a handful of the Dawson's Creek episodes, and I'm hating this episode of Everwood. Not only are 16 year olds having sex, the fact that they're on anti-depressants makes them less able to make "those kind" of decisions. What the hell? First off, 16 year olds should not being having sex. Second, anti-depressants should not affect the decision of whether or not to engage in sexual acts. Yay! Ephram's still a virgin, although, the episode is only half over.

Sex in high school should be illegal. It was so weird the day I thought about how over half my students were more experienced than I was. Am. I seriously looked over my 2nd hour and tried to pick out which students had had sex and which hadn't. Is that perverted? I didn't think so at the time, but it sounds weird now. It was a pure numbers game. If every other one was sexually active, which ones was it? Him? Her? Yes. Yes. No. Although, if high school taught me one thing, it was that the ones that seem least likely to be sexually active are the ones that really are. It still throws me when I think about freshmen having sex. Or people that I know who were having sex when they were freshmen. I was still having trouble coming to terms with my period at 14, let alone able to think about sharing my body with someone else.

Not having sex at 16 does not mean you're going to die a virgin. I mean, forget the religious aspect of sexual intercourse, I think that if you're not able to support children, you should not engage in acts that may produce children. Even if you don't want any, and even if you take steps to avoid pregnancy, accidents happen. Life happens. You can have sex without wanting to produce offspring, but you should at least be capable of providing for one- should the unthinkable occur. Kids should not be having kids. It's just crazy.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host