he wanted to know if it was going to rain
written @ 10:53 p.m. on 2002-08-14

I had a lovely weekend with my boy for the past two days. He brought his new toy up to surprise me. Remember how I was lamenting the fact that he could afford a new quad? Well, turns out, he can't. He can afford a new jeep.

You see, he never told me that he bought an atv, he kept using the word "toy," I just assumed atv. He had talked about getting a quad earlier this summer, told me all about how he was going to save $3000 so he wouldn't have to buy it on credit, etc. So when he told me that he had saved his money and bought a new toy, I made the jump.

He said it was really hard to keep the secret from me, but that he'd been planning the surprise for awhile. Not quite sure why, but, hey, it made his life more exciting, I suppose. He told me that he had been really careful about what he said, which is true. I think the only time he might have fudged was when I asked what kind he ended up getting. I don't remember what he said, though, so I'm not sure. I think he just changed the subject.

The night before he came up was when he first mentioned the surprise. He said that he was bringing his new toy to surprise me. I said that it would have been more of a surprise if he hadn't told me that he was bringing it. He said, "Oh come on, you had to have known that I would bring it up." I said, "No, actually I figured there could be all sorts of reasons for you not to bring it yet. Maybe you had to order it, maybe you still had paperwork to finalize, maybe you needed to get it registered first." He said, "Well, I'm finishing up the paperwork tomorrow and I'm bringing it with me. You're going to be surprised." I said, "Is it yellow? Does it have four wheels? Will you take it off-roading?" "Yes." "I don't think I'm going to be that surprised."

Boy, was I wrong. He was delighted by the look on my face. So, yes, my boy has himself a 2002 Jeep Wrangler. He sold his 2001 Nissan Frontier to his sister. It's funny, last week, we even talked about how buying a brand new car is a completely foreign concept to my family, I'm sure he got a kick out of that conversation, because here he is, buying 2 new cars within the past 2 years.

I think I'm going to miss his truck, though. I had a kinship with that truck. I don't know why, but I really liked it. I liked driving it (and I can't drive the jeep because it's a stick)- and I refused to have difficult conversations in the truck, because I didn't want bad feelings associated with it. The jeep is nice, but every time you go driving in one, you feel all grubby afterward- dirty and windblown.

Oh well, hopefully it'll soon be cold enough that he'll have to put the top up. We almost froze last night. We decided to go driving and watch for meteors- we saw quite a few, but boy, was it cold. It was fine while we were out there watching, but the drive was shivering.

I was so convinced that he had bought a quad that I even used the internet to look up places for him to take it- didn't tell him that, and I'm glad I didn't show him the printouts I had. A surprise I can handle, an embarrassment because someone withheld information, I cannot.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host