milk and cookies
written @ 11:17 a.m. on 2001-08-28

Man, I am once again feeling like I can't say what I want to say in this diary because of the people who read it. I hate getting flashes of things where I go, "Oh! I should put that in my diary!" And then have to pause and say, "Oh wait, I couldn't say that. What would they think?"

Let's see, what can I say about this? It's like when you have a problem with your mom. You love her, but she just gets on your nerves, meddles where she shouldn't, does something that makes you just need to vent. So you go to your friend, say some pretty awful things about your mom, and everything's okay. Of course, if your mom heard any of the things you said to your friend, she'd be furious, and you'd never hear the end of it.

And half of the things you complain about to your friend are just the things you love about your mom any other day of the week. You know? Like, you go to your friend and say, "Oooh, I just hate when my mom leaves milk and cookies out for me." You may hate it today, but think it's wonderful tomorrow, one of those things. And of course, if your mom heard you say that, she'd stop leaving you milk and cookies, and then where would you be?

I guess what I'm saying is that while I could very well be petty and petulant in this diary today, I'm not going to, because I'm pretty sure I'll want milk and cookies tomorrow. And of course, everyone who reads this diary on a regular basis is sitting there thinking, "What'd I do?" Don't worry, it's not you.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host