As, assessment, not arsenic
written @ 2:49 p.m. on 2003-04-30

I have to make a poster display for my final exhibition. I feel like I'm entering the 5th grade science fair. My poster needs to be neat and "creative." Grr. One of the girls on Sorority Life was complaining about all the arts and crafts they do. Believe me girlie, I understand. Arts and crafts suck, unless, of course, they're completely initiated by you. So I needed a theme for my creative poster. Oh, and the poster has to have 5 pockets to hold documents that give proof of my learning. So I thought and thought.

My first idea was a geocaching theme. The catch phrase of geocaching.com is "Geocaching, where you are the search engine." So I figured I'd do a poster with the little GPS dude running around and dotted line trails, and talk about how in education the journey is what matters. But then I nixed that idea, because too many people don't know what geocaching is. So I started asking around.

One friend suggested a butterfly theme. "Because they're pretty. And you can always throw that whole metamorphose/change thing in." All of which is true. But I decided that was too girlie/elementary ed for me.

My mom suggested a lab bench. "Education is like an experiment. You have to get all the components right for it to be successful." I was a little iffy on the idea that I was experimenting with kids' education, like I didn't know what I was doing, but eventually threw out that idea because drawing a lab bench with proper perspective would be too hard.

Someone else also suggested chemistry labware, saying that each pocket could be a different item. I just kind of shrugged that one off.

I decided to go with "The essential elements of chemistry education." I'm drawing a blown up portion of the periodic table, and some of the elements on the table will be the 5 things I'm supposed to focus on. Behind those "elements" will be the pockets with the documents. My sister hates the idea. She thought I was going to draw the entire periodic table. Whatever. I mean, it's not a great poster, but she's really making me doubt myself. Oh well.

I need to go cut out letters.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host