Nonplussed
written @ 10:59 a.m. on 2001-09-12

I tried to avoid TV as much as possible yesterday. I listened to CDs. I played basketball. I went shopping. I think it's because I didn't want to admit what so many other people were accepting. That this changes everything.

Last night I read diary after diary, ones that I don't normally read, gauging people's reactions to this event. What I read frightened me. And I'm sure the sentiments I found here are being echoed across the country, even across the world. People are scared and angry. They are demanding retribution. People are terrified of war. They are crying out to God.

I don't know what to do. Do I sit and worry and speculate? Do I think the possibility of future actions? Do I continue with my life? Function as though this tragedy doesn't affect me? What should I be feeling? Should I be scared? Angry? Grief-stricken? Shocked? Outraged? Calm? Troubled?

I know that the TV would tell me how I should feel, that's why I haven't watched it very much. As much as I want someone to tell me how to act, I don't want it to be the Fox News Network.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host