because my grandma gave it to me
written @ 4:44 p.m. on 2001-09-13

I have spent the day throwing things away. Pictures, candy, toys, pens, papers, candles, they are all packed and ready for the dumpster. There were a few things that got tossed that I paused and considered keeping for just a little while longer, but then I thought better of it. They had served their purpose, they no longer brought back memories.

Of course, for every thing I threw away there were two more that I kept. Things that I'm holding onto and I don't know why. Sentimental value? Guilt? Obligation? Greed? I don't know.

Maybe I'm like the racoon or a crow, I'm attracted to the shiny things and I need to hoarde them in my nest. They serve me no purpose, but look how pretty. This is something I have that no one else does. It's mine.

My book, my picture, my 1999 calendar, my graduation pom-pom with googly eyes, my hand painted wooden jack-o-lantern, my funny cord thing that must-be-useful-somewhere-and-would-be-too-if-I-knew-what-it-was-for...

Why am I keeping this stuff?

Does anybody want a handmade lopsided egg candle?

It's red.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host