why would he name it eka-boron?
written @ 3:22 p.m. on 2003-03-04

Well, woohoo. For my intensive observation week, the chemistry class is spending two of the three days in the library researching the periodic table. Fortunately, what the teacher has planned for Thursday looks to be fairly doable. I get to present a simulation on the development of the Mendeleev Periodic Table. It uses cards to take the kids through grouping and ranking and lets them get a shallow feel for what Mendeleev did.

I ran through it myself today, and I need to try and convince someone else to do it with me. I need to find out where the rough and difficult spots are. My sister's not feeling very helpful lately; ever since I admitted to not liking her boyfriend. But maybe she'll do it anyway.

Another ISTEP student gets to show a video on her day of teaching. Gee. Fun. At least my cooperating teacher will let me do more than pop in a tape. What kind of experience will that give her?

We're supposed to switch teachers next week. The ISTEP students who are at the high school are supposed to switch to the junior high, and vice versa. However, the junior high teacher that I would fit with has a student teacher this semester. Also, my instructor thinks that the junior high won't do me much good because it's a lot of environmental science and biology. Which I know pretty much nothing about. So I may just stay where I'm at. I don't know yet. I kind of hope that I move- I feel as though there's a lot more I could learn, and observing one class a week isn't extremely helpful.

We'll see

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host