ElectroConvulsive Therapy
written @ 11:40 p.m. on 2001-09-05

I took my mom to her ECT treatment today. She can't drive herself home, and then someone has to stay with her afterwards. My dad usually takes a half day off work to take her, but I guess they figured that since I wasn't doing anything better (and I wasn't) I could do it this time.

It was really weird to have the nurse come out with her and tell me, "She knows her name and she knows where she's going, but she's a little fuzzy on the date." I wanted to joke that I wasn't quite sure what the date was either, but I didn't think it would be appropriate.

It was also really weird to have my dad call later and ask if they used high voltage or low voltage; my mom wasn't sure. "High. No, low, no, high, low, high, low. I don't know." After that she ate a popsicle and went to bed.

At least it's gotten to the point where the treatments only give her a headache. Granted, it's obviously a throbbing, pounding, skull-splitting headache, so it's almost inappropriate to use only, but at least it's lessened to this point. It used to be that her entire body ached for days, now the effects just last until the next morning.

The good news is, the treatments are working. The bad news is, I don't think it's fast enough for my mom's liking. It's hard to see her struggling with satisfaction. She wants to be optimistic, but.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host