it's been awhile
written @ 10:29 p.m. on 2001-09-05

My phone! It works! I have a connection! Halleluiah! Finally. And my computer is back, my trusty little CG, unchanged and noisy and pokey as ever. It's amazing, the things I find that bring me comfort. I had no idea I was so attached to this machine, or this keyboard, my keyboard, the one where the shift key sticks, this one here. Hello old friend.

So the coloring on my diary does look a tad different on my computer than it did on my brother's. The colors as I see them now are... grayer, I guess. More muted. I actually like it better. Unfortunately, I've discovered that colors as I see them at home are not what the majority of the world sees. Then again, maybe everybody perceives color differently anyway, like how our own voices sound different to us. You know, like when you listen to yourself on an answering machine, and you think that the sound must be distorted, because that's not what you sound like! Then your friend informs you that, no, actually it sounds exactly like you.

I'm in a bit of a rambly mood tonight. I didn't realize that I was until I started to write here.

I'm only partially moved into my new apartment. I'm still missing my bookshelves and all of my living room furniture. I don't know when I'm going to be getting my couch etc., I think it'll take some doing to convince anybody to help me haul it up the three flights of stairs.

My parents think that I moved into the ghetto. They're worried about me. When I went home the other night for another load of my stuff, my mom asked me to call when I got back in. And tonight, when my dad drove me to my apartment, instead of just dropping me off, he walked me to the door. He parked at the bottom of the stairs, there really wasn't any reason for him to come up with me, but hey, to each his own. If it makes him feel safe to make sure I am safe, I'll indulge him, no problem.

It's kinda sucky. My television only gets good reception if the coax cable (that's what that thing's called, isn't it? I'm not sure) is plugged in just right. Now, I don't have cable, I don't really have the money for it, but now I'm considering getting it just to have better reception. Better reception and ABC. Can't miss The Mole 2, you know. *grin* I currently get CBS, PBS, FOX, and NBC -sorta- if the cosmos are aligned and the network gods are shining upon my set at that particular moment, then I can watch Clifford and Craig. Have I mentioned that I have a crush on Craig Kilborn?

My mom bought me the ugliest house plant I have ever seen. This thing is some kind of overgrown mutant giant that looks like it's about to sprout legs and come after you. I thought it was a joke when I first saw it; that some friend had been mindlessly watering it for weeks until they realized that the plant was dangerously ugly and decided to get rid of it. It would have made more sense if my mom had just taken it off someone's hands, but no, she bought it. Something inside her saw this monster at the store and told her to purchase, spend actual money on, it for her daughter. I have no idea what I did to deserve such recognition. This plant scares me.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host