maybe it's because he's older
written @ 3:08 p.m. on 2003-01-23

Another charming character in my class this semester is Coach. I don't like Coach. Idiot Woodshop Boy is at least friendly; Coach sits in the corner with his arms crossed. The only topics that really seem to interest him are ones that deal with football and money. When I tried to say that high school football teams don't practice all summer long he was quick to jump on that and contradict me. I still don't think they practice all summer. They may work out and hang out, but I don't think they're allowed to hold formal practices all summer long. But, hey, what do I know?

Another problem I have with Coach is that supposedly our Personality Profiles and Learning Styles are the same. Fortunately, I'm a lot more normal than Coach. When we were supposed to get in groups and discuss stereotyping with our classmates, he continued to sit in the corner by himself. He then claimed that if everybody stopped self-stereotyping, then it would all just go away and we wouldn't have to deal with it. He said that he could call himself African-American or Native American, but that he chooses not to, because that just perpetrates the negativity and segregation. This dude is as white as my uncle. He could he label himself African-American, and, for instance, say on the phone, "I'll be the African-American sitting in the corner." But whomever was supposed to meet him would would think that he had stood them up. But hey, maybe he fits the Affirmative Action definition of 1/8th blood.

I've now worked in two groups with Coach and the only time he contributed to the group was to question our definition of a low structured classroom. When we told him that our definition had come from our Ed Psych class the semester before, he said that he took Ed Psych from the Dean of the College, and they never talked about low vs. high structure classrooms. And it was kinda snooty, the way he said it. "Well. I took Ed Psych from the Dean of the College, and he never talked about it." You know, if you're talking about something lacking in your educational background, why would you brag about it?

This is the guy I'm supposed to get along with the most because our styles are the most similar. I'm already dreading another group project with this man.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host