what?!?
written @ 4:30 p.m. on 2002-01-10

So I went out for "coffee" with a guy who's interested in me, but that I am not interested in. My plan was to look him in the eye and say, "I'm not interested in dating you." But that never happened. I got there first, he showed up and sat down, neither of us got anything to drink.

The conversation was almost interview-esque. He'd ask a question, I'd answer it. I'd embellish a bit on any one word answers, but there really wasn't much to it. The questions were pretty generic, where'd you grow up? Where'd you go to high school? Do you vote? Why don't you read comic books? How many brothers and sisters do you have? That sort of thing. Then I get, so have you ever been in any kind of major relationship? "No. I've had one boyfriend, and that was my freshman year of college, it lasted less than two months and pretty much consisted of making out in his dorm room, talking on the phone, and going to movies." Wow. Not quite a substantial relationship. "No, not really." So, so-and-so tells me you're not a virgin. "What!?!"

Okay, first off, What!?! Second, how would so-and-so know? Third, what were the two of them doing discussing whether or not I have a sex life? And fourth, What!?!

"Um, no, I'm a virgin. Where did so-and-so get the idea that I wasn't?" I don't know, that's just what he said. "Yeah, well, he never asked me." Oh well, so what? You're waiting for marriage? "You got it."

At the end of the evening, he said that he'd had a good time and that it was nice to actually talk to someone from work who was smart. I asked him what we talked about that required any kind of brains. He said, oh you know, religion, politics. I told him, "You asked me where I went to church, I told you. I said that I was a Republican, and you said that you were Independent. How was that talking religion and politics?" Well, you know, if I'd asked anybody else from work if they voted they would've given me a blank stare and asked for what? "I guess that's probably true. Well, see you later. Bye."

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host