there's different kinds of hugs
written @ 11:46 a.m. on 2002-11-07

I had some kind of major mood swing while talking to my boy last night. I'm still not sure what caused it. I went from happy, to lethargic, to crying, to happy again in the course of the conversation. My boy didn't know what to do. He wanted to know why I wasn't excited about this weekend, why I was crying; I couldn't tell him. This made him sad- he takes on the emotions of those around him. I was sad for no reason, he bacame sad for no reason. Actually, he had a reason- he was sad because I said that I wasn't as excited to see him as he was to see me.

I know! Doesn't that sound awful!? But it's not as bad as it sounds. See, he was strangely over-excited about seeing me Thursday night. I mean, I can't wait to see him, but he seemed deliriously fixated on Thursday. I was going for a more "excited about the weekend as a whole" kind of vibe. So I told him I didn't understand why he was so excited about Thursday, because we were going to see each other all weekend. He took that to mean that I didn't want to see him on Thursday. Which isn't true.

Anyway, fortunately we both ended the conversation on a good note. I got happy, tried explaining my position better (I don't think he was completely satisfied, but he felt a little better), and rode out the storm. So overall, it was a good conversation, but only because we stayed on the phone long enough to get past the bad parts.

It was our first difficult phone conversation. It was the first time he'd heard me cry. It was the first time I felt like I'd hurt his feelings. It was the first time we'd talked on the phone for 4 hours. We've been dating for 10 months, as of today.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host