cautious is cool with me
written @ 2:40 p.m. on 2004-07-11

So, date three was last night. Finally, he made a move. On our first date he was a perfect gentleman. Dinner and a movie, walked me to my door. Very nice. Our second date was dinner and we planned to go play miniature golf, but after dinner I decided that I didn't want to go to the arcade and play golf- I wanted to go someplace dark and quiet. Yes, I told him that! So I finally decided on the park near the lake. We wandered around the abandoned park and around the peaceful lake and I flirted my head off. I got nothing. He pulled into my driveway and turned and said, "Goodnight." That was it. He didn't even walk me to my door that night. The next night we saw fireworks with an old friend. I decided that I didn't want to be in control of the conversation, so I didn't say much. None of us said much. I think it was probably one of the quietest groups of holiday revelers ever. Two and a half hours together and maybe a half hour of conversation. Sad. Then this weekend we went to dinner and the circus. Yes, the circus. After the circus we got slushies and sat on the swings in the neighborhood playground. After swinging we went back to his house, sat on the couch and watched the blinking lights on his VCR. For 4 hours. When I finally got up to go he walked me to the door, put an arm around me and kissed my cheek. I don't know if he meant to kiss my cheek or if I moved, but he hadn't made eye contact, so I wasn't expecting it. So I quickly kissed his cheek- at the time it was to reassure him that I didn't deliberately flinch, but now that I think about it, maybe it said just the opposite and made the situation worse. Who knows. It was sweet and awkward and late at night. I feel like I'm 12.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host