But it's free!
written @ 2:21 p.m. on 2004-07-11

Now that I'm no longer a gold member, I can't update any time I want. So that's my reason for not updating this past week- I wanted to; the server wouldn't let me.

I'm still going to free movies. Lately I've seen Spiderman 2, Napoleon Dynamite, and Anchorman. Before each movie the sponsors have trivia sessions where they give swag to the audience. I actually won a t-shirt at Anchorman for knowing the answer to the first question. I also won some tiny foam dumbells, but as soon as I clean my room, I'm throwing them away.

The Anchorman pass was a strange aquisition. They were being given away at an import car lot. When my friend and I walked in early (expecting a line, because there's always a line) we were met by a slimy European salesman. "Can I help you?" "Yes, we hear you have movie tickets." His face fell with a look of concern and he walked back to his office. He came back with one free movie pass and a card for free oil changes. He told us that he was very sorry, but this was his last ticket. Maybe we would like this VIP card for free oil changes, I did have a car, didn't I? Confused, I took the free oil changes. We walked back to the car and as we were sitting there trying to figure out where to go next, we watched no less than six people go in and come out with movie passes. Last one, my foot! Part of me wanted to storm in there and demand my free movie pass, but I decided that it wasn't worth it. Each pass is good for two, so at least we both got to see the movie. We just couldn't invite anyone else.

We had also tried for King Arthur passes, but they ran out just ahead of us. Oh well, the screening was on the same day as Anchorman, and from the reviews, it sounds as though I saw the better movie. There was a bit too much shirtless Will Farrell for my taste, but it was still a funny movie. I love the news anchor rumble, and the weather guy. Funniest character, hands down.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host