will they close school if this gas thing gets worse?
written @ 3:16 p.m. on 2003-08-19

All the gas stations in the 5 mile radius that I frequent are closed. The marquees have big, white gaping holes where gas prices should be. There's caution tape wound around the pumps and at entrances. Every corner looks like a crime scene. Every corner was a crime scene, because before they all closed down, those gas stations were robbing commuters. $2.35 a gallon, just because they could.

I think everybody started panic buying, once the tv stations came out with the news that a pipeline had sprung a leak. The pipline was shut down two weeks ago; it wasn't until the big news stories that people started lining up at the gas station. And if 70% of Arizona's gas comes from California, why does this pipeline from Texas have such a big impact?

Do I see more bicyclists? No. More people walking? No. I just see people lined up around the block to fuel their SUVs. This gas shortage hasn't affected my life or habits, why should anyone else change?

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host