hire me
written @ 9:58 p.m. on 2002-08-17

I have an itsy-bitsy inkling of a job prospect. Woo-hoo! But I musn't get too excited about it, because it's entirely possible that I won't get it. I don't know if I've ever mentioned this before, but aside from my brief foray into telemarketing, and the Kelly temp job I got in CO, every job I've ever gotten has been because I had connections.

Yes, in high school I searched long and hard for a typical loser job, I even applied for fast food (I know, I know), but nada. Finally a friend got me a tutoring gig with her little brother, my first job! And after high school, it wasn't until I pulled family connections that I got a job at Walgreens. And then in college, I got another tutoring job because my little sister worked there first. Even at my last job, I was hired under the recommendation of my brother.

Do you know what kind of a beating my self-esteem has taken? To know that I have gotten only one job by myself(well, because, telemarketing doesn't count). One. And I'm a good employee. In fact, at my last job they said they couldn't even believe that my brother and I were related, and that the one good thing that came from hiring him was hiring me.

I'm a loyal worker, willing to do menial tasks that are beneath my education level. I will sit and sort mail. I will stand and make copies. I will shelve books. Ring up purchases. I won't fry food, though. No. No fast food, no telemarketing. That's where I currently draw the line. I don't even need to make a lot of money. I'm willing to work for practically minimum wage. Though I don't know what minimum wage is right now... last I heard it was like, $5.25, I think.

Yeah, so this job prospect? My sister's boyfriend thinks they might be hiring where he works, not sure though. And he thinks it might, might be on Tuesday/Thursdays. And I might be free Tuesday/Thursdays. So I might get the job; there's a little bit of a connection there. So what if I've never actually met my sister's boyfriend- it's still a reference. Right? Might be. Let's hope.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host