two pina coladas, one for each hand
written @ 3:19 p.m. on 2003-04-21

After two weeks practically devoted entirely to portfolios, I will be going to Rocky Point on Thursday. Woo hoo.

This would be a perfect vacation except for one tiny thing. My mother has invited herself (and Dad and little Bro) along. BUT she doesn't know for sure that they will be able to make it. Grr. So I have neither pleasant anticipation nor foreboding dread to contend with, because I don't know which it will be.

Okay, the situation with the fam is this: Mother got the ceilings scraped a few weeks ago (bye bye popcorn ceilings) but decided she didn't really like the company who did them. Dad said that he would repaint the ceilings instead of paying the company to come back. Dad has not yet painted the ceilings and probably never will. I told Mother that I was going to Mexico this upcoming weekend. The wheels in her head start turning. She could get my dad to take my brother to Rocky Point, and she could get my sister to come down with her boyfriend to paint the ceilings for a drastically reduced price, without Dad in the way.

So she called me up and said that they wanted to go and told me to contact those that were arranging the trip and ask them to reserve another campsite. I didn't want to, but I did it. I called her back, said it was arranged and gave her the number for Mexican insurance. She then tells me that they might not go. She said that she has plans for Friday night, so it would just be little Bro and Dad, but then when she told Dad that I was leaving on Thursday night, not Friday, he didn't seem too thrilled and started backpedaling. How sucky would it be if my parents invite themselves to Rocky Point, and then back out at the last minute? Grr. And my sister doesn't want to paint the ceilings. Especially not for the amount of money my mother is offering. Well, shoot. Mummy's plan isn't working out.

My sister's comment: Just because my boyfriend's Mexican doesn't mean he's hired labor.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host