I had no idea girlfriends were expensive
written @ 7:07 p.m. on 2002-08-07

Well, I talked to my boy today and he asked if I had a job yet, or if I had even really looked very hard for one. I said no. I said that I'm still waiting to figure out which classes I have to take this fall (school starts in 2 1/2 weeks) and I don't want to apply for a job when I don't even know my schedule. He said, I thought the whole point of you going up there early was to like find a job and stuff. And now you're waiting for school to start? And I said, Well, that was the plan originally, but then my advisor went MIA and the chemistry office said that he's the only one who deals with students like me (post-degree). So, I'm stuck. He let it drop.

I feel kind of bad. I mean, I'm sitting here in Flagstaff treading water, and he's down in Tempe, one paycheck away from buying a quad. When I was in town he was borrowing money to make truck payments, and now that I'm gone he's been able to hoard almost $3000? WTF?

I mean, I have no idea what he was spending money on, because I mean, I don't think I saw him spend almost a $1000 a month. I'm guessing he's not as close as he thinks. But if he is, then... I mean, I've been gone for less than 2 months. I'm thinking that he's reserved one paycheck a month for this vehicle, so he'll wait for one more check and put the rest on his credit card. Was hanging out with me sucking up one paycheck a month? It's entirely possible, I guess. Oh, that sucks.

So now I feel bad. Was dating me keeping him from getting what he really wanted? Was I putting him in debt? Was I the reason he had to borrow money? And if so, why didn't I get more presents? No. Kidding. But still.

My guilt is twofold. One, I'm a great big slacker doing nothing while my boy earns enough money for expensive toys. Two, my boy was only able to get up enough money for the toy because I'm not in town.

Well, I guess that's one positive to a long distance relationship- it's less expensive, as long as you can keep the phone charges in check.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host