I have plans, dammit!
written @ 6:47 p.m. on 2004-06-23

My supervisor at work cornered me today and asked if I was leaving the company soon. I didn't know what to say, so I told the truth. "I hope so." She mumbled something about the manager telling her something about me and school and said that she needed to know if I was going to be leaving so that she could make plans. I told her that I was hoping to get a job for the upcoming school year. I told her I want to be a teacher. I told her I was currently looking for a position and that if things worked out the way I hoped, I would probably be leaving on August 6th. So she wrote it on her calendar, in big blue letters, "Aug. 6-LAST DAY." Maybe she's more excited than I am.

So, of course it's made it's way all throughout the company. Goodness, you'd think I was leaving July 6th, not August 6th. People coming up and asking if it's true, disbelief in their eyes. It's kind of funny. But it also scares me too. Now my current job has an end date for me. What if I don't get a start date at a school?

I have a very promising lead. The principal has pretty much told me that he's hiring me as soon as the current teacher resigns. He's even said that he wishes she would hurry up about it so that he could move forward. So let's hope she resigns soon. Let's hope she doesn't change her mind. Let's hope her plans don't fall through, because that would ruin my plans.

Some days it seems like a small thing, a sure thing. "Oh, I'll be hired just as soon as this one little formality is over." Other days it seems like a big if. "I'll be hired IF this one teacher gets another job. IF she decides to leave the coveted position at this high school. IF she gets a better contract somewhere else."

Leave, lady! I have plans!

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host