I'd play if the ball was bigger
written @ 12:06 a.m. on 2001-11-08

My family amuses me. Tonight we stood around in the kitchen to eat pizza and then we all sat down and watched Ed together. I haven't watched Ed since early last season, and I don't know if my brother had ever seen it, but it was what was on tonight, and neither of us were particularly motivated to leave, so we sat. It was a terribly non-bonding bonding evening.

My little brother is currently obsessed with raquetball. It's what they're doing in his P.E. class, and he's enamored with it. All he wants to do is go play. He walks around the house bouncing the ball on the raquet begging people to go play with him. I told him I wouldn't do it because I wasn't good at it. In fact, I absolutely suck at raquetball. I spent the week in P.E. that was devoted to the sport singing the "Achy Breaky Heart" chorus.

For some reason, I was overly amused by the song, I had heard it once and remembered it in a much more exaggerated fashion than it was truly sung in, so I used the lovely echoing walls of the raquetball court to reverberate, "Don't tell my heart. My ACH-ee BREAK-ee Heart. I jus don think he'd unnerstand. And EEEF YOU tell my Heart. My ACH-EEE Break-EE Heart. He might blow up and keel dis man. Whoo!" Yeah, I was a dork, and I hated P.E.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host