maybe if I stand on my tip-toes
written @ 2:49 a.m. on 2001-10-31

I have two younger brothers, and I distinguish between the two by calling them �my brother� and �my little brother.� And that�s worked, especially since the one really was my �little� brother. Unfortunately, he�s now as tall as I am.

You know, when I was growing up, I was considered tall. I hit just a smidge under 5�8� (close enough to be considered 5�8� for legal purposes) in 6th grade and have stayed there ever since. Like I said, I used to be tall. But now, now I�m short. Pretty soon I�m going to have to look up to all my younger siblings (my sister�s shorter than I am, but she wears tall shoes). I am not happy about this.

I want to be tall.

I can�t even wear tall shoes to make up for my lack of height. This is because I also lack the grace and elegance to successfully negotiate life in tall shoes. The biggest heel I�ve ever worn on a shoe was just about 1 inch, and that was on my prom shoes; shoes I don�t think I ever wore again after that night.

You know, I probably shouldn�t have even worn heels on prom night, because my poor prom date was the same height as I was, and when I put on even that slight of a lift (along with the hair piled on top of my head) it made him look short. Our prom pictures aren�t very flattering for either of us. I was incredibly tired by the time we got around to taking them, and he was looking (and feeling) rather much short.

I guess I don�t really have much of a case to stand on in my complaint about not being tall. I�m really not all that short, and at least I�m not a guy. It�s so much more, I don�t want to say important, but socially desirable for a guy to be tall. At least I don�t have to go out in a world that thinks I�m short, because as much as I complain, I know that I�m not considered short. I just feel short.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host