I'm not a slacker, I'm just distracted
written @ 9:57 a.m. on 2001-11-19

I am desperately attempting to finish reading a book that a friend recommended to me over a year ago. It's just that it's sooo boring. I have accustomed myself to cheap thrills and no-brainer activities; trying to wade through a book this dense is like attempting to practice ballet in hardened oatmeal.

I have to put a check mark on each page that I read so that I can keep track of where I am. If I didn't, I'd probably end up rereading the same page 4 or 5 times before I realized what I was doing. Actually, there's no probably about it, I would reread the page over and over, that's what prompted the checks in the first place.

The awful thing is that this book really isn't all that bad, and it pertains to a pretty interesting subject, at least, I think it's interesting. I'm just not used to this! But I'm going to get through it. And I have to admit, it is getting easier. Once you get a feel of the author's lingo and where he's going with his point, everything else kind of falls into place. I'm still only on page 36, however, and it's been a year. I just can't keep myself focused and disciplined enough to finish the thing. But it will happen! And I will understand it! It will! I will! I just don't know when.

"God is no fonder of intellectual slackers than of any other slackers. [As a Christian,]... you are embarking on something which is going to take the whole of you, brains and all. ... Anyone who is honestly trying to be a Christian will soon find his intelligence being sharpened." --C.S. Lewis

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host