all I want for Christmas
written @ 11:01 a.m. on 2002-12-03

I'm not giving my brother a birthday present this year. He never gets me one, and just because he's lucky and his birthday is right near Christmas doesn't mean I should always remember to get him something.

I know that gift giving isn't something that you do (or don't do) just because someone else does (or doesn't). Giving should be meaningful, and come from the heart. You should do it because you want to, not because you have to. Which is why my brother isn't getting anything for his birthday.

I'll still give him something for Christmas. Don't know what, but something. Maybe socks and underwear. I need to get my sister something too. For both Christmas and birthday. But no combined gifts- that's cheating.

I have four presents left to buy: brother, sister, sister, boy. My sister bought her boyfriend a GameCube. When I told my boy, he said, "Damn, I'm dating the wrong one!" Which is actually really funny, because my boy wouldn't know what to do with a GameCube. He never plays video games. Never has.

I think the joke was more about how she spent $200 on her boy, and I'm looking to spend about $20. It'll actually probably be closer to $40, but I'll try for less. It's sad, but I have no money. Besides, I think my boy is glad he only has to reciprocate with a $30 gift. Makes it easier on him. I wonder what he'll get for me. I haven't been dropping very good hints. This should be interesting.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host