it had a good life
written @ 11:34 a.m. on 2001-10-12

One of my dad's cars was stolen this week.

My parents' comments on the situation:

"If it doesn't show up by Monday, insurance will cut us a check for what they think it's worth, which won't be anywhere near the actual value. Too bad we didn't trade it in last week like we talked about."

"I went outside to get the paper and I remember seeing your brother's bike out front and thinking that it was a good thing it was still there and that no one had taken it, then I noticed that the car was missing. I kinda hoped your brother or one of his friends had borrowed it or something."

Neither of them seem particularly upset or anything. In fact, the whole mood around the situation is a -*shrug* these things happen- kind of attitude.

I keep expecting it to show up again; my dad will wake up tomorrow morning and the car will be back, sitting in the same place it was before, like it had just decided to go for a little joy ride by itself. I don't know, I just can't believe that anyone would want one of our cars. My family doesn't own steal-worthy cars. We just don't.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host