at least they knew how to clean
written @ 9:29 p.m. on 2001-10-13

The problem I have with the movie Sleeping Beauty is how the three fairies, after living with Briar Rose in a cottage in the woods for 16 years, had absolutely no domestic skills whatsoever. I mean, if they had successfully lived there for that long with no contact from the 'outside' world, wouldn't they have learned how to cook and sew? Why is it that on the eve of her birthday they can't figure out how to bake a cake? Or sew a dress? Is it too much to ask for continuity in fairy tales?

I mean, I understand that it appears as though Merriweather was the one who had taken over cooking duties, but wouldn't Fauna at least have realized that you break eggs before you add them to a recipe? I mean, when you're living in what appears to be a two room cottage, you have to at least notice what goes on in the kitchen. Merriweather couldn't have prepared every meal without assistance. And none of them knew how to sew, so who had taken care of that?

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host