9 M H2SO4
written @ 7:43 p.m. on 2003-11-24

So. I had a student try to steal sulfuric acid today. He put it in a test tube, stoppered it, and put it in his pants pocket. Too bad it broke open during his next class. His leg started burning and the nurse couldn't do anything for him, except tell him to wash it off. He came to me, saying that he got some acid on his leg during the lab. He said that he had washed it off, but it was still burning. I told him to make a paste of baking soda. It worked. Go me! Unfortunately, the kid got suspended for the rest of the week.

My cooperating teacher said that the kid needed to be written up and his parents contacted because the acid could be considered a weapon. He could have taken it in order to throw it in someone's face. I don't think that was the case, and I feel bad that he had to be suspended but at least it will be a lesson for him.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host