where the deer and the antelope play
written @ 5:21 p.m. on 2002-09-03

Well, my weekend was nice. I went camping in the White Mountains. It was really beautiful, but looking around and realizing that this is the forest that was threatened by fire and that land just like this went up in blazes not more than 25 miles away was really saddening. We went up on one of the knolls and had a look around; we could see the domed football stadium in Eager where they housed evacuees.

I had camped near Show Low and Pinetop before, my church had a camp ground up there when I was in elementary school, but I never realized how nice it was up there. We went four-wheeling through all these beautiful forest roads, my boy and his dad both have jeeps, so a group of 6 of us went out. Whenever my boy was in the lead he managed to get us so lost and turned around that his dad couldn't find where we were on the map, but it was no problem. We were just on atv tracks that weren't marked on the map.

We stumbled upon a lot of deer hunters. Didn't see any deer, just hunters. We did see a herd of antelope, though. It was almost like a mirage. We're tooling across a field, and in the distance I see this weird grouping of white blots that are moving really fast. But then they just disappear. What was that? Where they birds? Now my boy and I are on the lookout, there they are again! They're antelope. How cool.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host