so, flannel shirts aren't in anymore?
written @ 9:44 a.m. on 2002-08-30

I forgot that my first class is only MW, so here I am, early Friday morning, all dressed up and no place to go. I should be doing something productive, but no. I'd rather watch TRL reruns and poke around online. I could finish my homework (but I can't!), or clean the apartment, or call my mom and tell her that I'm coming down this evening, or pack for the weekend, or write my essay. But no.

I'm having trouble packing. I'm going camping this Labor Day weekend, but I don't know what to wear. It's been deeply ingrained in my psyche that when you go camping, you reach deep into your closet and pull out the grubby clothes- the things you don't wear everyday, the ragged ones, the stuff that can get ruined and dirty, but... I'm not sure that's what I should wear this time. The people I'm going camping with don't exactly have grubby clothes. Their idea of old is, oh, two seasons ago. I've got a pair of jeans from my senior year of high school that I can still wear. So I'm at an impasse.

Maybe I'll wear stuff that isn't old, but that I won't cry about if I ruin with a sap stain. That's what I need to do. What is new-ish but disposable? Everything. Girl, just go pack.

I'm excited about going camping, I like camping. But I don't know if I like it because I'm supposed to like it. I tried to have this discussion once, but discovered that I'm the only person I know who suspects that I like something only because I'm supposed to. Society tells me that camping is desirable. I may not like what a hassle it is, but I'm supposed to, so I do it. And I do enjoy it, sometimes it's worth the hassle, sometimes it isn't. This time I was instructed to bring myself, clothes, and a sleeping bag. Everything else will be provided, and I trust the people I'm going with, so I think it'll be okay. I just wish I could master peeing in the forest.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host