love me, love my cat
written @ 4:56 p.m. on 2001-09-07

My cat is going through his co-dependent phase again. I can't go anywhere in my apartment without having him within 4 feet of me. He's not annoying or demanding, he just follows me from room to room and lays down near by. It's oddly comforting.

I once watched a special on PBS (I think) about Hemingway's cats, or maybe it was about cats in general, anyway, there was a statement made that cats have best friends. They tend to closely associate with a particular other cat, or human, or dog, or other animal, I guess. The point was made during a look at Hemingway's cats showing how they're often found in pairs, where one is, so is the other. Thomas has bonded to me, I'm his best friend, it makes me happy. I've never been a pet's best friend.

We always had all kinds of animals while I was growing up, but none of them made me their special favorite. My dad's cat used sleep on my bed once she got older, but that was just because she wasn't allowed to sleep in my parent's bed; my mom wouldn't allow it. I was often a second choice for the animals.

My family doesn't understand Thomas, he doesn't act like any of their cats. The two indoor cats at my parent's house have their special favorites (my dad for one, and my brother for the other) but then beyond that, they'll demand attention from whomever is near. Oh, you're sitting in that chair? Don't mind if I join you, move your arm, I need this lap. Thomas, on the other hand, doesn't demand attention from anybody, and would rather be left alone than plopped in a lap and petted. My family thinks that Thomas is mean and anti-social, stiff and not affectionate.

Wow, I guess Tom and I are more alike than I thought, considering that we have the same reputation with people. He's a cold fish! Just like me!

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host