it boggles the mind
written @ 8:42 p.m. on 2001-09-08

So, AOL and Hasboro and General Mills are having a great big ol' promotion and sticking CDs on cereal. I have no idea what the connection is, or who came up with this concept, but hey, if someone wants to shrink wrap the Cheerios, more power to them.

Earlier this summer the friend I was staying with came back from the grocery store with a box of Cinnamon Toast Crunch and a CD version of Chutes and Ladders. I was amused, but we never installed the game. There's something like 5 games available; I don't remember all of them, but there's Chutes and Ladders, Operation, Boggle, Yahtzee, and something else, I guess.

When I went grocery shopping earlier this week and saw that they were still attaching games to the cereal, I hunted around until I found a box of cereal with a Boggle game attached (so what if I didn't especially want Lucky Charms this week). Now I have been playing Boggle like crazy.

The Boggle CD has 4 different types of games, Classic Boggle, Breakaway, Space, and In Your Face. My biggest problem with the game is that at the end it tells you how many words you got out of how many possible, but half of the possible words look like complete nonsense. You're supposed to be able to double click on the listed word to get a definition, but most of these words don't have a definition! And then there's words that aren't in the Boggle dictionary. You can choose to add them, if you've got them listed and Boggle hasn't heard of them, but come on. How is a word like "litlop" in the dictionary while "sun" is not? It's aggravating. But I still play. It's a heck of a lot better than yet another game of free cell.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host