boiling over
written @ 11:02 a.m. on 2001-12-10

My eye is bugging out on me again. It's all red and puffy. Only thing is, the last time it did this, I didn't have to work, this time I need to be in the office by 12:30. I think it's allergies. Or maybe it's because I'm getting sick.

I've decided that people's bodies process disease differently. My body's latest incarnation of disease is this puffy freaked out eye thing (which has two-fold suckiness, it's ugly and causes me to wear my glasses, which I wouldn't mind except that my glasses are 3 or 4 years old). It wouldn't be so bad if it didn't freak other people out so bad. "Nelle! What happened to your eye!" "Eww, gross, stay away from me!"

For awhile my body gave me boils when it was mad at me. Okay, so I got two in three years, but they were majorly uncomfortable and embarrassing. I mean, boils are associated with, well plagues, but also with dirty people who lack basic hygiene skills. I am a clean person!

I had one on my hip, it wasn't too bad, but then I got one on my knee, and it was awful! It was huge and awful, and I had to go to the doctor to get it drained. It was like the world's biggest, nastiest, greenest zit, and it was on my knee. And it was at it's worst on the day of my Organic Chemistry II final.

I went to the doctor, who referred me to an orthopedic surgeon (I think it was just so gross he didn't want to deal with it, so he passed it off to someone else). They thought that the tissue in my knee was infected because it was so swollen and I limped. But the surgeon decided that it was just bursitis and shot my knee full of pain-killers before he hacked into it with a scalpel. He actually turned my knee to the side to let all of this gook drain out. Did I mention that it was awful? Then he stuffed a wad of gauze into my knee and told me to change the dressing once or twice a day, and clean it out with peroxide using these giant special q-tips.

Then I hopped into my car, drove to campus, paid the meter, and took my O-chem final in record time because I didn't have that much change and I saw the traffic cops prowling the parking lot.

That night, when I tried to change the dressing, I couldn't get the wad of gauze out of my knee. It hurt when I pulled and it began to tear; I freaked out. I was scared that the stuff wouldn't ever come out, it was crammed so far in there. I don't know if I cried, but I do rememeber whining an awful lot. And I called the emergency room and asked them what to do, they were absolutely no help. I finally got it out and I couldn't believe that the doctor had managed to squeeze a 5x5 square of gauze into the hole that was in my knee.

It was yellowed and bloody, and so was the hole, and then I was supposed to stuff in a new square using the giant q-tips I was given. It was not a pleasant night, nor were the next few nights. I had an indented scar the size of 3 nickels all summer. I've still got a shallow hole in my knee about the size of a dime.

That's probably my most traumatic "injury" ever. I've lived a boring life. And I can't believe I'm telling you about my boil.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host