I need to just hold my tongue
written @ 3:17 p.m. on 2003-03-26

Uh-oh. I'm doing another group project, and I think I'm being a little bossy again. After we do groupwork, we have to evaluate our fellow group members. We turn in the evaluations and the instructor rewrites them and gives them to us. One of my former group members wrote, "She likes her opinions to be the ones that matter." Hee. Whoops.

My last group, I made huge conscious efforts to not be too opinionated. The problem was that none of the group members wanted to be the leader and the project didn't turn out as well as I had wanted. But the only time I felt I stepped on any toes was during the question session of our presentation. I threw in my 2 cents anytime my group answered a question, just because I thought the others weren't doing a very good job answering.

Fortunately, there's no presentation this time around. But I'm still being too controlling. For instance, one group member finally made a suggestion and I totally shot it down. My bad.

I don't know how to get what I want and make other people feel like they're the ones that thought of it. I need that kind of manipulative charisma.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host