i had no idea, right?
written @ 12:46 p.m. on 2002-08-27

I called my boy and talked him to sleep last night. He was really tired, and it was late, but I wanted to talk, and I was paying for it, so I was going to talk, and talk, and talk. Amazingly enough, when only one person is talking, you can say a lot more in a shorter amount of time. I was only on the phone for just over an hour, but we had at least 3 one-sided full-blown conversations. Oh, he made all the appropriate noises and asked short questions at all the right times, so I know he was paying at least minimal attention.

I used to do this to my mom all the time. I discovered that I had a captive audience if I sat at the counter and talked while she was making dinner. While she had to stand there and tend to the fying chicken or browning beef, I would tell her all about my day and my friends and my newest discoveries. After awhile she competely tuned me out, so I developed an annoying habit of ending most sentences with, "right?" As in, "So she dyed her hair bright green, right?" It was my way to attempt to cue a response. It really got on her nerves. I think I'm one of the very few teenagers whose parents told them to stop talking to them.

Anyway, I apologized profusely for talking so much, but my boy said it was no problem, he liked hearing me talk. I had tried, early on in the conversation, to get him to talk. I asked about his day and whatever, but he didn't have much to say. He did tell me that one of our former co-workers was a manic-depressive homosexual cocaine addict. Totally blew me away.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host