it's red and blue with ugly yellow stars
written @ 12:46 p.m. on 2003-01-03

So my boy and I were sitting around trying to figure out what to do the other night, and I suggested we go paint ceramic knick-knacks. I figured it was something we hadn't done before, it was a break from the ordinary, and it was a little more active than watching a movie. He hemmed and hawed and finally caved in. So we drove to the store (or studio, as they like to call themselves) and had a look around. Then he backed out.

Didn't really want to do it, he said, maybe later, we'll do it next week, he said. I agreed, and walked out of the store with him. Then we went to dinner and over to Zoolights, which was probably more fun than painting a ceramic pencil holder anyway.

So last night, I was hanging with my friend. We'd just finished shopping but really weren't hungry yet, so we were looking for something to do. As we drove past the ceramic store, I mentioned that I had wanted to do that with my boy, but he backed out and we were supposedly going to go paint next week. My friend suggested that we go do it. So we went in and painted hexagonal mugs. I get to go pick mine up on Sunday, after 4 PM.

Now, the question is, do I tell my boy? Actually, the question is, do I really want to do this with my boy? Because if I don't, then I tell him. But if I do, then I probably shouldn't, because he'll use it as an excuse to back out. But then again, do I really want to force my boy to do something he doesn't really want to do? And do I want to do this again? It's a kind of expensive activity, and for people with limited artistic ability, is it worth it? I'll tell him. I'll just throw in a phrase like, "And I can go pick it up when we go in." That will let him know I still want to go painting with him, but also gives him a place be more firm about not wanting to participate in this particular activity. I think I'll be happy either way, because I did get rid of the jonesing for ceramics.

I just wish you could tell what it was going to look like before they glaze it.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host