Not even 10% and he had a coupon!
written @ 1:40 p.m. on 2004-05-22

My landlord is seriously one of the cheapest people I have ever met.

The man hired the least expensive maid service to clean the house after the previous tenants moved out and when I moved in, I couldn't tell the place had even been cleaned. I had seen the place before the maids, and it looked exactly the same after the maids.

He hired a service to clean the carpets, and they just managed to drag dirty water across the carpet, effectively steaming lines of dirt across the room. It almost looks like a decorative element in the weave of the carpet. At least the lines are straight.

He chastised his girlfriend when she offered to get an oil change for his car- to the point where she had to call every oil change garage in the phonebook in effort to find the cheapest price. She was paying for it! He told her that she was NOT to pay more than $20 for an oil change. It was supposed to be a quick favor, it turned into a day long ordeal. Just to save 5 bucks!

The lawn service he hired, the men he paid money to, were so bad, there are bare spots in the yard because the spinkler system they installed doesn't cover all the places there is supposed to be grass. He didn't want to pay for more rocks in the garden area, so there are now little bare headed mounds because there aren't enough rocks to effectively cover the area.

Cheap! The man is cheap!

He's almost as bad as my dad, whose new thing is that he doesn't think waiters should be tipped on percentage. He thinks that they deserve about $7 an hour, and he is willing to pay for that. Which means that the hour and a half five of us spent at the steak house eating appetizers, dinner, and dessert probably earned our waitress $10. It's embarrassing to eat out with him. I'm going to have to start leaving cash by my plate when I leave.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host