You've Been A Lot Less Fun Since I Quit Drinkin'
written @ 12:13 p.m. on 2004-05-22

Confession: I am becoming increasingly appreciative of country music. I used to be one of those people who said, "I like all kinds of music, except rap and country." Now that statement would be: "I can find at least one song I like from all genres. But if I had to listen to a radio station devoted to one kind of music all day long, I could stand any music except rap. My top 5 choices would be: Christian Punk/Rock, Country, Dancehall music (Swing, Big Band), Classical, or Radio Disney."

Yes, country music would be my second choice. On some days it would be my first choice. I really like this New Country sound. No longer is country full of twangy voices crying into their beer and lamenting the loss of a great lady. I mean that old joke about playing a country song backward doesn't really apply anymore.

You have to love a genre with song titles like: Save a Horse (Ride a Cowboy), Hell Yeah, I Love This Bar, I Shaved My Legs For This?, and She Thinks My Tractor's Sexy.

There is now a popular opinion in country music that country is the new rock. I agree with people when they say things like some rock artists from the 70's and 80's, people in the Rock 'N Roll Hall of Fame, would be considered country if they came out today. And some of today's country artists would have been rock artists 20 years ago.

Liking Country is no longer something to be ashamed of.

You know it's a sign when Kid Rock and Uncle Kracker have gone country.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host