not another can of pumpkin
written @ 12:02 p.m. on 2001-11-28

My friend and I are playing phone tag and making appointments to see each other. She works mornings and goes to bed early, I work evenings and sleep in late; our schedules aren't really conducive to maintaining a healthy relationship. However, I have Thursday and Friday off this week, so I called and left a message to that effect, and she called back and said that Thursday was good for her and that she'd like to hang out then. I'm supposed to call back with times.

I say that I have Thursday and Friday off this week because we are going to be re-bidding for schedules soon, today or tomorrow, I think. And since I was the last one hired, I get last pick, and my current schedule is seen as one of the nice ones (Friday off, close to the weekend, people like that), so it's probably going to go first. It looks like I'm going to be stuck with something crappy like Tuesdays and Wednesdays off. If I had my druthers, I'd really like Sunday and Monday off, but for now the weekends are off limits, so there's no hope in that.

Oh well, I best be getting dressed and getting to work. If I bring in 6 cans for the food drive I get to wear jeans and tennis shoes to work. What does the food bank get from Nelle today? 1 can of jellied cranberry sauce, 1 can of pumpkin, 1 can of water chestnuts, 1 can of chicken broth, 1 can of healthy choice chicken soup, and 1 can of tuna fish. Yum, yum, wouldn't that make a funky meal? The majority of food that we've collected at work seems to be, and sad to say, Ramen, because it's so cheap people can buy mass quantities and get lots of dress down days. Whoever said giving to charity was self-less?

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host