it's a gimmick
written @ 4:51 p.m. on 2002-10-09

So I was at drugstore.com today. I like that site, it's affiliated with Amazon, and it's cool to just look around and see what's offered. I like reading the customer reviews of products I may have been tempted to buy. There's also some neat bargains and cool freebies.

Anyway, I was on the bargain page, and you'll never guess what I saw. Black Pantyliners. WTF? Who in the world needs black pantyliners? My mind is a blank, I can't even form questions, except, why? Why in the world did Carefree decide that women need black pantyliners? Their explanation is "to wear with dark colored panties." Okay, hello? Who's going to see the inside of the crotch of your underwear? And care whether the nasty pantyliner there is black or white?

This is just mind-boggling. Of all the stupid things that market researchers come up with, this takes the cake. Even over the colored food. Colored food, now that's a good one. I mean, who wants to eat pink butter? or blue french fries? or electric green applesauce? Okay, I'll admit, I bought the green applesauce, but only because it was on sale. And the green ketchup, but only because it came in the small tipped bottle. But blue french fries? And they're more expensive than the normal colored fries. And, well, so it's obviously marketed towards kids, but who needs to convince kids to eat fries? I mean, they're already a treat, there's no need to make them more appealing.

I don't understand. Why?

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host