developmentally delayed
written @ 9:25 a.m. on 2002-10-03

So, I'm slowly meeting the people in my classes and at work. I don't quite think I can call any of them friends yet, but I'm working on it. I say "hey" to them every time I see them. It's a good start. The unfortunate part of the equation is the fact that the average age of this potential friends is about 19.5, yes folks, 5 years younger than me. Maybe it's the fact that I'm only taking 1 graduate level class. Or maybe it's really that these people are my people.

I always had a sneaking suspicion that I was about 4 years behind in the emotional curve. I swear, I should have just repeated high school in its entirity after I graduated, then maybe I'd be ready for what most people experienced the first time around.

But I'm glad I'm not 20 right now. I like hanging out with them, but I'm glad I'm past that part of my life. Even though I'm pretty much back where I was four years ago, there's still something about being slightly older. Maybe I don't want to be 20 because I remember it being hard. All I know is that I'm slightly more mature and happier, so I'll take 24 over 20 anytime.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host