under some rocks, near a tree
written @ 8:05 p.m. on 2002-09-24

I had a fantabulous weekend. By the time Monday night rolled around I was absolutely bone tired, but I think it was worth it. I drove down to Phoenix on Friday and went out with my boy. Saturday I did laundry and worked on my math project with my dad. I also figured out how my boy's GPS device worked. I got online and found some geocaches, programmed them into the little thing, and then when my boy got off work on Saturday we went out "treasure hunting."

I know, for some people it sounds like a lame Saturday night date, but we both had a lot of fun. There was something about the thrill of the case, the anticipation of exploration, and just hanging out, going for a walk in the park. I mean, what? a typical Saturday date consists of going to dinner and the movies? Well, I went to the Tempe Buttes and saw the sunset over a great view of the city. Then I drove over to the other side of the city and walked around in a park that I didn't even know existed before. I watched ducks floating on a lake in the light cast by the Harvest moon. So, yeah, I may have been a geek looking for a tiny box hidden by some other random guy so that I could sign a tiny memo book to prove that I'd been there, but at least I was outdoors enjoying the time with my boyfriend. And I got dinner out of the deal, too.

Sunday morning we woke up early because we were going on an exploration trip with a jeep club. The plan was to got to Crackerjack Mine in Payson and beyond. Guess what? There was a geocache hidden right by the mine. So of course we had to find it. There was a guy in the jeep club who owns an electronics store- his big seller right now is GPS devices. He had never heard of the sport of geocaching before. We let him help look for the cache. I got stuck holding his dog on the trail, so I didn't even get to look. It was a good box of stuff. A book, a cd, stationary set, a geocaching car sticker, canteen, emergency poncho, allen wrench set, all kinds of neat well, junk. We were out for over 12 hours in the jeep. I drove back to Flagstaff Monday morning and just dropped at 8:30 that night.

I still don't think I'm fully recovered.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host