congratulations! you've been called
written @ 5:01 p.m. on 2004-01-06

I think the Mormons are on a PR binge. I have encountered three stories concerning Mormon missionaries in less than a month; one was an independent film on PBS, another was an interview on NPR, and the third was an article in ESPN magazine. It's not crazy, per se, just noteworthy enough for someone like me to mention.

I guess they're fairly positive views of missionaries. They're presented in a glow of unbiased reporting, but there wasn't any negative remarks on the missionary practices, religion, infrastructure, or anything. It was just kind of a "here's a missionary, he can't chew gum or go to movies, and he gets rejected a lot as he attempts to tell unsuspecting people about the plan Heavenly Father has for their lives." There were mentions of bad singing in each of the reports- I guess that was a negative aspect of Mormonism.

Anyway, like I said, I found it interesting that there'd been this many encounters with media attention on Mormon missionaries recently.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host