sing it, people
written @ 10:00 p.m. on 2004-01-25

I went to two church services today. One this morning and one tonight. The morning one was at GCC and it was their 11:00 contemporary service. Now, I thought a contemporary service meant they played the Christian equivalent of rock 'n roll worship music. Hoo boy, was I wrong. Today's offering of contemporary music was more along the lines of EZ listening muzak than rock 'n roll. The primary instruments were a grand piano and a saxphone. The four vocalists chomped their way through otherwise peppy and uplifting worship music- music that I recognized the words to, but not the horrible plodding beat or rifting sax solos. These people yuppified my 20-something worship music. They killed it dead and dragged it kicking and screaming through my ears.

Tonight's service was at WOG, and these people know the meaning of a contemporary service. Actually, they call it "progressive worship." It was so much better. WOG has musicians. Real guitar players, and a drummer who does more than keep time like a metronome. WOG actually played one of the same songs as GCC did this morning, and I almost didn't recogize it. It was the second time through the chorus before I stopped and thought, "hey, I did this before."

I think the primary reason I go to church is for the worship music. When a church can't be roused out of its stupor and really praise God, the reason they should be there in the first place, then there's something wrong. I don't know if I'll ever go to the GCC contemporary worship service ever again. And I sure ain't going to their earlier traditional service.

before|random|after

new old me rings mail notes book design host